F I L M L U N

Official languages of the 39 EPC Contracting States		
State	Official language(s) (Legal basis: National Law, Chapter II, 4)	R.6(3) EPC filing fee and/or examination fee reduction possible for Art.14(4) persons of this state
	EU languages noted with asterisk	
Albania	Albanian	Yes
Austria (EU)	German*	No
Belgium (EU)	French* Dutch* German*	Yes, but only if the essential element (description) and/or request for examination was filed in Dutch
Bulgaria (EU)	Bulgarian*	Yes
Croatia (EU)	Croatian*	Yes
Cyprus (EU)	Greek*	Yes
Czechia (EU)	Czech*	Yes
Denmark (EU)	Danish*	Yes
Estonia (EU)	Estonian*	Yes
Finland (EU)	Finnish* Swedish*	Yes
France (EU)	French*	No
Germany (EU)	German*	No
Greece (EU)	Greek*	Yes
Hungary (EU)	Hungarian*	Yes
Iceland	Icelandic	Yes
Ireland (EU)	Irish* English*	Yes, but only if the essential element (description) and/or request for examination was filed in Irish
Italy (EU)	Italian*	Yes
Latvia (EU)	Latvian*	Yes
Liechtenstein	German	No
Lithuania (EU)	Lithuanian*	Yes
Luxembourg (EU)	French* German* Luxembourgish	Yes, but only if the essential element (description) and/or request for examination was filed in Luxembourgish
Malta (EU)	Maltese* English*	Yes, but only if the essential element (description) and/or request for examination was filed in Maltese
Monaco	French	No

State	Languages (Legal basis: National Law, Chapter II, 4)	R.6(3) EPC filing fee and/or examination fee reduction possible for Art.14(4) persons of this state
Montenegro	Montenegrin	Yes
Netherlands (EU)	Dutch*	Yes
North Macedonia	Macedonian	Yes
Norway	Norwegian	Yes
Poland (EU)	Polish*	Yes
Portugal (EU)	Portuguese*	Yes
Romania (EU)	Romanian*	Yes
San Marino	Italian	Yes
Serbia	Serbian	Yes
Slovakia (EU)	Slovak*	Yes
Slovenia (EU)	Slovenian*	Yes
Spain (EU)	Spanish*	Yes
Sweden (EU)	Swedish*	Yes
Switzerland	German French Italian	Yes, but only if the essential element (description) and/or request for examination was filed in Italian
Türkiye	Turkish	Yes
United Kingdom	English	No

^{* 24} official languages of the EU

Notes regarding Unitary patent:

If a European patent is granted in English, you can use any of these 24 EU languages for the translation for the request for Unitary effect under Article 6, paragraph 1, Regulation (EU) No 1260/2012.

24 EU languages: Bulgarian, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish.